Three more Maine communities designated ‘certified business-friendly’

AUGUSTA – Governor Paul R. LePage and the Maine Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) announce that the City of Eastport and the Towns of Fryeburg and Wiscasset have recently been designated ‘certified business-friendly”. With the addition of these three communities, a total of 34 cities and towns across Maine have been recognized over the last four years.

The “Certified Business-Friendly Community” program, administered by DECD, encourages Maine municipalities to take a critical look at all areas of their business attraction strategy and examine ways the community interacts with businesses to promote new private investment.

“It’s great to see more Maine communities taking the necessary steps to grow our economy,” said Governor Paul R. LePage. “Hopefully liberals in Augusta will take notice. Instead of constantly pursuing a job-killing, anti-business agenda, they should do what’s right for Maine and support policies to make our state more competitive, so all Maine people can become more prosperous.”

The “Certified Business-Friendly Community” program began in 2012. Since then, Maine’s list of “Certified Business-Friendly” communities has grown to include: Auburn, Augusta, Bath, Belfast, Biddeford, Brewer, Bucksport, Caribou, Cumberland, Eastport, Ellsworth, Fairfield, Farmington, Fort Kent, Fryeburg, Guilford, Hermon, Kennebunk, Lewiston, Lincoln, Madison, Pittsfield, Poland, Presque Isle, Richmond, Saco, Sanford, Sherman, Southwest Harbor, Topsham, Van Buren, Wells, Westbrook, and Wiscasset.

Read more of this story at the Maine Department of Economic and Community Development. Photo courtesy of New Maine Times.

Shared By